Are There Rules To Texting?

I admit, I feel a little sheepish writing about this topic. I have recently been reading on some really innovative ways that marketers and businesses can use sms (texting) technology for business.

Restaurants text out coupons or specials, clubs use it to announce guest DJs, event promoters use them to for announcing concerts and pushing ticket sales, many organizations use it to remind people service payments are due. The list goes on and on.

What I want to know is when do people break the un spoken laws?

My mother-in-law recently began texting and treated it like mass email forwards of daily thoughts and inspirational messages. IRITTATING!!!! I told my wife, “Call your mom and let her know if she sends me one more text that goes out to her list of everyone she knows about something that has nothing to with me, I will get a restraining order.”

Have you ever felt that way about an organization texting you? What kind of info do you want sent to you? How often is too much? What would be the big faux pas?

What about B2B? Think about vendors or people you  buy from in the workplace? How could they use text messaging with you?

I want to know. Please share.

About James Keddington

I have been a marketer for over 12 years. I enjoy snowboarding, playing water polo and cooking.
This entry was posted in Marketing and Advertising, Mobile technology, Social Media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.